**frontyard library**

About | Collection | Subjects | Authors

Record details:

Permanent revolution : Mike Brown and the Australian avant-garde 1953-1997 / Richard Haese. (2011)

Authors: Haese, Richard, 1944-, Brown, Mike (Michael Challis), 1938-1997.
Publisher:Melbourne : Miegunyah Press,
  • There are 56 copies of this book in other libraries
  • and 56 copies of this specific edition.
Also Titled:
  • Mike Brown and the Australian avant-garde 1953-1997
  • Haese, Richard, 1944-
Content Types:
  • text
Carrier Types:
  • volume
Physical Description:
  • 297 p. : ill., ports. ; 27 cm.
  • Miegunyah Press series
  • Miegunyah Press series
  • In 1960 the 22-year-old Mike Brown joined the New Zealand artist, Ross Crothall, in an old terrace house in inner Sydney's Annandale. Over the following two years the artists filled the house with a remarkable body of work. Launched with an equally extraordinary exhibition, the movement they called Imitation Realism introduced collage, assemblage and installation to Australian art for the first time. Laying the groundwork for a distinctive Australian postmodernism, Imitation Realism was also the first Australian art movement to respond in a profound way to Aboriginal art, and to the tribal art of New Guinea and the Pacific region.By the mid-1960s Brown was already the most controversial figure in Australian art. In 1963 a key work was thrown out of a major travelling exhibition for being overtly sexual. Finally, in 1966-67, Brown became the only Australian artist to have been successfully prosecuted for obscenity. Brown spent the last 28 years of his life in Melbourne, where his reputation for radicalism and nonconformity was cemented with his multiplicity of styles, exploration of themes of sexuality, and transgressive commitment to the ideal of street art and graffiti. Against a background of the counter-culture and the social and political upheavals of the 1960s and 1970s, Brown's art and remarkable life of personal and creative struggle is without parallel in Australian art. Permanent Revolution is the first full-scale account of Mike Brown's life and work.
  • Machine generated contents note: 1.Australian Modernism: An Incomplete Project (1953-63)
  • 2.Across the Grain: From Chatswood to Annandale (1938-60)
  • 3.Sailing to Byzantium: Annandale Imitation Realism (1960-62)
  • 4.Flying Kites: Protest and Pop on the Sydney Art Scene (1963-67)
  • 5.Descent into the Maelstrom: Mysticism, Abstraction and the Edge of Art (1966-68)
  • 6.Change and Dissent: Anti-Modernism and Post-Object Art (1969-74)
  • 7.Embracing Chaos: Politics and Democratic Art (1973-81)
  • 8.Death of the Artist: Politics and Postmodernism (1981-88)
  • 9.End Game: Pluralism and Populism (1989-97).
  • More...
  • More...
  • Author is a member of La Trobe University.
  • Includes bibliographical references (p. 286-291) and index.
  • Tertiary/​Undergraduate.
  • General.
  • English
  • 9780522860801 (hbk)
Dewey Number:
  • 709.94
Libraries Australia ID:
  • 47948140
  • 47948140
Contributed by:
  • Libraries Australia

This record was constructed from data on Trove. Look at the original data on Trove

Note:Dewey number is taken from trove and may not correspond to the number on the book within the collection at Frontyard. We are working on a solution to finding books at the moment, if you want to be involved in creating a solution get in touch.